Her Shadow in Wings

The sun, glaring down from a faded sky,
Finds me perched in a high place,
Hammer,
Nails,
Shingles,
Hot asphalt burning my knees,
As I kneel,
An unwitting pilgrim,
At the heel of a solar god.

Relief, unexpected and fleeting,
As shade passes over me,
Accompanied by a cool breeze,
My gaze drawn upward,
To a raven wheeling against the Sun,
The poetic impulse takes me,
And I am awash in a sudden flood of verse,
Until my balance wavers,
Dangerously…,

And the moment passes,
Eyes down and the sun on my back,
I return to the task at hand,
But a single phrase lingers still,
“Her shadow in wings.”

 

3 Comments

Filed under Nature, Poetry, Spiritual Journey

3 responses to “Her Shadow in Wings

  1. Isabeau D'anjou 1981

    This is beautiful, just beautiful… I am sharing it to my page, I do not want to lose it ❤

  2. Beautiful! I love this so much!

Let me know what you think

