Hello, again.

Every week I pull the curtain back and step out onto the stage.

It’s not a big production, not by any stretch of the imagination.  Sometimes there are props and costumes, but these consist mostly of stuff I’ve either made myself or found lying around.  As I take my mark, the floor boards creak dangerously beneath my feet.  Dust hangs suspended in the air, momentarily visible in the hazy beam of the spotlight, and out in the lobby, the paint is peeling slowly from the walls.

Taking my place at center stage, I close my eyes, breath deeply, and begin to speak.

PoemLegendCommentaryFictionMemory

Sometimes I know precisely what it is that I’m going to say.  There are also those moments, like now, when, unable to compose my thoughts, I must simply allow the words to tumble out on their own.

It has been a good run so far.  The audience for my little show has grown, slowly but steadily over the (almost) year and a half it has lasted.  I am always happy to see new people filling previously empty seats.

And then, last week, someone threw the theater doors open wide and the crowds seemed to rush in all at once.  The understocked concessions stand was overwhelmed almost immediately, and the previously empty seats were crowded with onlookers.

Freshly Pressed

I could not have been more surprised or humbled by the unexpected attention, the likes and follows and the overwhelmingly positive comments which so many of you left in your wake.

Truly, I thank you all.

****

And now?

Now I’m sitting backstage, and I’m a bit…,

Nervous.

Not because there are potentially more people watching, reading, judging.

No, if anything I am glad of the company.

Our bodies are composed of bone and hair and muscle, which we dress up and walk around and people think they know us.  And we think we know ourselves.

Yet, those are just the props we employ.

It is through our stories, our thoughts, experiences and beliefs made manifest, that we discover our true form.

By sharing my stories with you, I come to see my own form more clearly.

Self discovery has been part of my goal for this blog from the beginning.

Every time that curtain lifts, I learn a little more.  The rougher bits have just begun to come together and reveal their shape.  The general outlines are there, I think, but there is much detail still to be filled in.

And now the curtain rises…,

Hello, again!

The Gaelic Chieftain - metal sculpture by Maurice Harron, overlooking the site of the battle of Curlew Pass and the town of Boyle, Co. Roscommon, Ireland.

The Gaelic Chieftain – metal sculpture by Maurice Harron,
overlooking the site of the battle of Curlew Pass and the town of Boyle, Co. Roscommon, Ireland.

2 Comments

Filed under About this Blog, Modern Life, Spiritual Journey

2 responses to “Hello, again.

  1. Wow, what a great way of putting it! I like being in your audience 😉 And congrats on being featured on Freshly Pressed 🙂

  2. So interesting to see how differently people respond to being freshly pressed. Had to smile at your theatre analogy – it was very similar to the one I used. And then the somewhat daunting moment arrives for the followup performance! Enjoyed reading this.

Let me know what you think

