Spring Fever

This is not the post you were looking for.

There is, at this time of the year, a seeming expectation that a Pagan blogger will post something about the Christian high holy day of Easter.  These obligatory posts usually take one of the following forms:

1.)  A rambling discourse on the various pagan influences (eggs, rabbits, Ēastre of the Dawn) still visible in the modern celebrations of what would otherwise be a VERY Christian holiday.

2.)  A compare/contrast between Christian Easter and the modern (and particularly Wiccan) celebrations of the spring equinox.

3.)  An argument suggesting that the inclusion of Easter into a Pagan practice is all fine and good, this usually followed by an entreaty to stop being mean to all the christopagans.

or

4.)  The “Correcting Misinformation” post, which seeks to fix all the mistakes made by people doing shoddy research and posting information that is either outright false or just generally misleading in one of the three previous types of Obligatory Pagan/Easter posts.

Well, if you look around just a bit, I think you’ll see that we’ve reached market saturation on all of the above categories for the 2013 Easter season.

This is not that post.

 

I had really wanted to do something funny for April Fools Day.  I knocked around lots of different ideas but every time I’d try to put something down it came out feeling flat and forced.

“Dying is easy.  Comedy is hard.”

This is not that post either.

That's my cat Dream, blowing you a raspberry for April Fools Day!  So there!

That’s my cat Dream, blowing you a raspberry for April Fools Day! So there!

The truth is, I’ve got Spring Fever.

No, that’s not right.

I’ve got a Spring fever.  As in, I’ve been feeling ill for most of the last couple weeks.  I’ve been forcing myself to go to work, but when I drag myself home, I’ve either been sleeping or experimenting with various levels of Zombieism.   And while I know that Zombies are all the rage right now in popular media, I’ve got to tell you, they write for crap.

So this is THAT post, the long winded place-holder.

I hate that post!

 

I might have just skipped this week entirely, except that this is the fifty-second post since I started this blog and I couldn’t stand the thought of missing a week at the very end of an otherwise perfect year.

So, next week I’ll be celebrating the 1st Anniversary of the Stone of Destiny and you are all invited.

There may even be cake.

8 Comments

Filed under About this Blog, Holidays, Interfaith, Modern Life

8 responses to “Spring Fever

  1. Greetings –
    The “correcting misinformation” Bellejar article you linked “Easter is not named after Ishtar” refers to a Facebook meme that was just plain silly. It was factually inaccurate because it pointed to words that sound alike in different languages as evidence of relationship and because it conflated two goddesses, the anglo-saxon Easter and the sumerian Ishtar. However, the roots of the Christian resurrection story in the Sumerian Ishtar story appear better grounded: http://awaypoint.wordpress.com/2013/03/28/ancient-sumerian-origins-of-the-easter-story/

    • Actually, I’ve seen plenty of other bloggers reposting that Facebook meme as fact, so I think it’s fair to say its grown beyond its origins.

      As for linking the mythology of Inanna to that of Easter…, you can try but there is really little point.

      The theme of a god or goddess who dies and resurrects is as old as the seasons and finds its way into just about every mythology I can think of. There is no good evidence to tie Ishtar and Easter together beyond the fact that they use the same life-death-rebirth theme which comes free in every mythology starter kit. Correlation does not imply causation.

      • thalassa

        “The theme of a god or goddess who dies and resurrects is as old as the seasons and finds its way into just about every mythology I can think of. There is no good evidence to tie Ishtar and Easter together beyond the fact that they use the same life-death-rebirth theme which comes free in every mythology starter kit. Correlation does not imply causation.”

        Oh, thank you! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

        There are plenty of things I find more annoying than this habit among Pagans, but…its still pretty annoying. If someone wants to celebrate Ishtar at Easter, that’s their own business (as well as the-possibly-not-historical Eostre for Ostara)…but promulgating it as some sort of persecution complex about how all our holidays were “Co-opted by Christianity” or trying to make it some superiority gig because “ours came first” is just…well, I’m never sure if its ignorance (willful or not), deliberate ingeniousness or just plain intellectual dishonesty, but either way, I’m lacking the energy to point it out for myself this year.

        And I hope you feel better! Part of the reason I’m lacking the energy to point it out for myself is because I have some lovely spring bug myself!

  2. Carolyn

    I think you have a gorgeous cat!

  3. Ah yah caught me…I did one of “those” oversaturated posts…couldn’t help myself. Hope you feel better soon and for a zombie I think you did quite well here. You must be one of the new breeds of zombies (movie Warm Bodies). I have the “springs” without the fever part – grateful for that!

  4. Pingback: Spring=Change, & Musings | musings of a kitchen witch

  5. The cake sounds delightful, and your cat is very regal. Hope you feel better, being sick is always bleh…

Let me know what you think

